The Boys Are Back!

IMG_9091

The weekend of Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th March signalled the return of the male teams to the Kynren site, to begin training in preparation for 17 live shows during season 2.

This weekend was the start of my next journey, to witness ‘Kynren’ from a show team’s perspective.

First up was Combat training on the Saturday and Archery training on the Sunday.

If I am honest I was really looking forward to meeting up with all the volunteers again, some of who I hadn’t seen since the climax of the last show in season 1, and of course to meet new people, both new volunteers, and new teammates too.

As for the training, I was apprehensive, I knew it was going to be intense, certainly based on my capabilities, and maybe I’m too hard on myself, but it certainly isn’t as easy as the performers in the shows make it look to be.

Certainly more practice in both disciplines¬†are needed as far as I’m concerned.

But thankfully and hopefully I will pick it up a lot quicker in the next training sessions which are tonight.

Today I’d like to talk about two elements of the show team, the first one is the training itself, without question, it’s second to none by some of the most talented trainers you could ever wish to meet.

But the training schedules each volunteer receives, from looking outside in last season, I knew they all worked tirelessly and put plenty of hours in to perfect the choreography for each scene, but even though I vividly remember this I can honestly say I didn’t take it all onboard at the time.

The training is intense, based on my schedule, which is very similar to a lot of teams in the show, training from now on is mainly twice a week for show team performers.

It takes a lot of dedication and commitment from each volunteer, remembering that’s what all of us are; Volunteers.

We all have various commitments, jobs, families, school, but we all come together because we do enjoy it and it’s an amazing project to be involved in.

Secondly, during that rehearsal weekend, what I noticed, and what I greatly appreciated was the support and the encouragement from the first season volunteers.

Each of them have been in exactly the same position as I and many new volunteers find themselves in now, and lots of advice and tips were presented to those who needed them most, mainly me.

IMG_9112

It’s always nice to return to the Kynren site, I’ve said it many times before, there’s something magical about the place, it has an ability to lift you, it improves your week, it gives you something to look forward too.

And having been an Archer from the start, there’s now definitely two elements of Kynren.

First, the shows which are outstanding, that believe me are just going to keep getting better and better, leaving every visitor with that wow effect.

But the second element of Kynren is the people involved, the hard working staff and the dedicated volunteers, between us we have created the spirit and the heartbeat of Kynren.

Another huge factor of why each volunteer chooses to share our time with the project.

Finally, a special thank you goes to the Cavalry Team, who kindly showed a number of volunteers around their stables, to meet some of the real stars of our show, our incredible horses, each with their individual characters; absolutely beautiful animals.

It was an interesting and insightful tour, especially to learn that each horse learns all of the show music so they know when to go in each scene.

Remarkable.

So with just over 15 weeks to go there is a lot going on, on site as well as an increase in the marketing of the shows too.

IMG_9231

From each Archer we hope we have the pleasure of your company this Summer and we can’t wait to welcome you all back to Kynren.

For more information or to book your tickets please visit the Eleven Arches website: http://www.elevenarches.org/

Leave a Reply

