Kynren Season 2

IMG_8691

As Kynren prepares itself for one last performance of Season 2, many of the Archers and volunteers will be sharing many memories that this season will have brought them.

For me, they bring many different flashbacks.

As you will have noticed I haven’t written many articles this season, no weekly episodes to watch out for, hopefully to become inspired by, and share in the emotions of the volunteers experience.

14079654_10210692357369732_3565473206692975600_n

Overall at times this season it’s been a hard watch personally, I’ve seen the show, but I haven’t come to write about it as yet, because quite frankly I can’t.

I’ve made no secret on why I left the Kynren project this year, I left for health reasons.

And for those that read these blog articles or follow my progress, the health reasons were down to being diagnosed with depression in November.

It’s been a long and painful process back, I often say depression strips you of your identity, your self belief and self worth, and whilst I tried to continue on in a project I love, I realised I had to walk away for no other reason but myself.

IMG_2569

Watching the show even though it’s still amazing and fantastic, and believe me it does go up levels in comparison to season 1.

So much so I have no doubt it will continue to go up levels in season 3 and 4 and so on.

How do I know this?

Because I completed all of the show team training before I made the painstaking decision to walk away.

I remember being in awe at each training session thinking how on earth are we going to do that?

How on earth am I going to do that?

But you just do.

Practice, practice, practice.

At Kynren you work alongside the very best.

Not only the very best combat trainers and the best choreographers.

But you work alongside only the very best teammates, teammates who once stood in your shoes, who  now have a wealth of experience from participating in the Kynren shows to help you along your journey, with guidance, tips, and lifting your confidence.

IMG_3049

Choreography that was first shown now sticks in your head, remembered and ready to perform, whatever the trainers have in mind for season 3, I have no doubt every Archer will deliver and be raring to get started.

So to the show and project itself, looking outside in, the volunteers have excelled themselves once again, I only found it difficult as I would have been lining up alongside each of them this season.

Knowing in certain scenes exactly where I would be positioned, and exactly what I would have been doing.

But the show itself it has changed, anyone that has seen it this season against last season will know that.

Kynren has added scenes, such as Boudicca.

IMG_3048

And the running layout of scenes has changed, even for a last season volunteer looking in certain directions thinking you know exactly what is about to happen, and being equally as surprised as the audience when something else does, leaving you high on anticipation and on the end of your seat.

The increase of volunteers on the stage makes every scene come even more to life than the first season, if that was possible at all.

If you have had the opportunity or the pleasure to attend this season, you certainly won’t have been heading home short changed.

So what will Season 3 bring?

Honestly I don’t know, but what I think it will bring is: More.

Each season it is delivering, aesthetically it is brilliant and will continue to be.

The pride and willingness of the volunteers make the project special, and that will long live in the memories of all.

And for me, I’m better, and recovered, i’m just waiting on confirmation to go back and do it all again, to pick up where I left off and carry on my journey of Kynren.

To continue to write about the project from the volunteers eyes, a side of the project that no one quite sees unless you join us.

A final note for now, as Kynren and Bishop Auckland head towards their final show of the season a flashback of mine from last year was this.

Heading into this moment last year I wanted to mark the season, to do something special, to share something that could be treasured and looked back on time and time again.

And then it dawned on me, I had already done it, each and every article that I had managed to write told another story, a story that you didn’t have to remember, as it was there for all to see in black and white.

Archers thank you to each of you past and present, with your commitment, loyalty and work ethic the project is looking in good shape heading into Season 3.

To the volunteers of Season 2, head into Saturday’s show just as you have done for the 16 before it.

Big smiles, big performances, take everything in, and most of all enjoy it, because these are the memories you will look back on for a lifetime.

To find out more information on volunteering for Season 3 or to book your tickets please visit the Eleven Arches website:

http://www.elevenarches.org

To read more about Kynren and what it is like to volunteer on the project please visit my Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/Kynren-Blog/posts/ 

 

Leave a Reply

